Some of Yorkshire's most celebrated attractions and finest scenery are right here on our doorstep
dsd

More than 170 race meetings every year, within striking distance of the Talbot Hotel.

There are nine top class racecourses in Yorkshire – all within 60 miles of the Talbot Hotel – reflecting the passion and interest for the Sport of Kings in this area.

The town itself has long been associated with the breeding, training and racing of horses. The Malton Races were run on Langton Wolds, from around 1692 until 1861 in front of a grandstand that was erected in 1801. With many professional horse trainers, stud farms and bloodstock agents in the area racing continues to make a significant contribution to the life and economy of the town.

Whether you are a serious punter or looking for a fun day out for the family, you'll always find something going on within striking distance of the Hotel.

Race meetings at York

Join fellow racegoers on the lawns and champagne terraces at the famous Knavesmire course to celebrate or commiserate but, whatever you do, don’t miss out on staying at the Talbot! Just a short drive or hop on the train.

Dante Festival 2018

  • Wed 16th May: Tattersalls Musidora Stakes
  • Thu 17th May: Betfred Dante Stakes
  • Fri 18th May: Betway Yorkshire Cup

First Saturday 2018

  • Sat 26th May: Bronte Cup

June Meeting 2018

  • Fri 15th June: Mid-Summer Raceday
  • Sat 16th June: Macmillian Charity Raceday

Summer Music Saturday 2018

  • Sat 30th June: Sunbets Jump Jockeys Nunthorpe & Paloma Faith

John Smith’s Cup Meeting 2018

  • Fri 13th July: Unibet Summer Stakes
  • Sat 14th July: 59th John Smith’s Cup

Music Showcase Weekend 2018

  • Fri 27th July: EBF Lyric Stakes and Live Music
  • Sat 28th July: Sky Bet York Stakes and Live Music

Welcome to Yorkshire Ebor Festival 2018

  • Wed 22nd August: Juddmonte International
  • Thurs 23rd August: Darley Yorkshire Oaks & Ladies Day
  • Fri 24th August: Coolmore Nunthorpe Stakes
  • Sat 25th August: Ebor Day

September Sunday 2018

  • Sun 9th September: The Press Family Raceday

October Finale 2018

  • Fri 12th October: Countryside Raceday
  • Sat 13th October: Coral Sprint Trophy

 

Flat-racing in Yorkshire:

Beverley Racecourse, 42 miles (www.beverley-racecourse.co.uk)
Pontefract Racecourse, 46 miles (www.pontefract-races.co.uk)
Redcar Racecourse, 43 miles (www.redcarracing.co.uk)
Ripon Racecourse, 41 miles (www.ripon-races.co.uk)
Thirsk Racecourse, 28 miles (www.thirskracecourse.net)
York Racecourse, 24 miles (www.yorkracecourse.co.uk)

National Hunt in Yorkshire

Wetherby Racecourse, 40 miles (http://www.wetherbyracing.co.uk)

Dual courses (flat and jump-racing) in Yorkshire:

Catterick, 59 miles (www.catterickbridge.co.uk)
Doncaster, 54 miles (www.doncaster-racecourse.co.uk)

Racing Festivals in Yorkshire:

St Leger at Doncaster
Welcome to Yorkshire Ebor Festival at York

Our support of the Injured Jockeys Fund

The Talbot Hotel's strong associations with horse training and racing explain why we have chosen to support the Injured Jockeys Fund, which is raising funds for the Jack Berry House in Malton, a rehabilitation centre for injured jockeys.

For further information, please use the 'make an enquiry' button to the side, click here to email us or contact us via telephone on 01653 639096.

enquiry

enquiry